AD2PI - Do I have to solder it to my RPI?

General Discussion

AD2PI - Do I have to solder it to my RPI?

Postby Derekcomptech » Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:12 am

Hello,

I am very interested in buying this AD2PI for my soon to be had vista20 system. I have 2 questions.
First, do I have to solder the AD2PI to the RPI or is it similar to a hooking up an IDE ribbon cable on an old pc?
I am not good at soldering though believe me I've tried (JTAG's and modding xbox's).

Second, The vista20p is replacing and an old caddix alarm system. I do not want to purchase a keypad for the vista if I do not have to. From the researching I have done I think I would have to program with a real keypad to put the AD2PI on specific address. What if I want to solely use the AD2PI as my keypad for everything? Is it possible without changing addresses with a real keypad?

In short all i want to purchase is the AD2PI and the vista20p I do not want to purchase a Keypad too unless I have to.

ThX in advance
Derekcomptech
newt
newt

Re: AD2PI - Do I have to solder it to my RPI?

Postby kevin » Tue Jun 02, 2015 5:22 pm

Derekcomptech wrote:Hello,

I am very interested in buying this AD2PI for my soon to be had vista20 system. I have 2 questions.
First, do I have to solder the AD2PI to the RPI or is it similar to a hooking up an IDE ribbon cable on an old pc?
I am not good at soldering though believe me I've tried (JTAG's and modding xbox's).

Second, The vista20p is replacing and an old caddix alarm system. I do not want to purchase a keypad for the vista if I do not have to. From the researching I have done I think I would have to program with a real keypad to put the AD2PI on specific address. What if I want to solely use the AD2PI as my keypad for everything? Is it possible without changing addresses with a real keypad?

In short all i want to purchase is the AD2PI and the vista20p I do not want to purchase a Keypad too unless I have to.

ThX in advance