Veralite shows serial port as Not Available

General Discussion

Veralite shows serial port as Not Available

Postby kevin » Tue Sep 23, 2014 11:42 am

Since we have changed USB chips in the AD2USB, the default driver on the Vera does not successfully find our device right off the bat and there are a few steps that need to be completed to get the AD2USB to show up in the serial port configuration of the Ademco plugin.

So, here we are:

1. type: lsusb <enter>
- this will list all the vendor and product id for usb ports and adapters on your vera
- the AD2USB will show up as 0403:6015, 0403:6010 or 0403:60xx for example. Write this down as it is your "vendor id:product id"
- if you're not sure which your AD2USB is, unplug your AD2USB and type "lsusb". Plug it in and type "lsusb". See which line was added. That is your adapter's info. It is important to get the correct vendor id and product id!
2. type: rmmod -f ftdi_sio <enter>
- we are removing the existing ftdi driver for the AD2USB. We will add one specifically for the AD2USB adapter next. Ignore errors as when we reboot at the end this will not matter.
3. type: insmod vendor=0x403 product=0x6015 <enter> (replace the values with your found vendor id and product id)
- this loads the driver specifically for your AD2USB adapter
4. type: echo "ftdi_sio vendor=0x403 product=0x6015" > /etc/modules.d/65-usb-serial-ftdi <enter> (replace the values with your found vendor id and product id)
- this allows your vera to autoload drivers for the AD2USB even after reboot or power cycles. the original file just has "ftdi_sio"
5. type: echo "vendor:0403 product:6015" > /etc/cmh/serproxy.ports <enter> (replace the values with your found vendor id and product id)
- this allows vera 3 to see the new adapter as a serial adapter and adds it to the UI.
6: Reboot your Vera and you should have the correct modules loaded.


A special thank you to user helraiser on the Vera plugin forum at: http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/ ... #msg194403
Not an employee of the company. Just here to help and keep things clean.
kevin
Platinum Nut
Platinum Nut
 
Posts: 993
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 10:10 am

Re: Vera shows serial port as Not Available

Postby Macflow » Sat Dec 06, 2014 1:08 am

Hi im brand new to veralite and ad2usb iam running the UI5.. What i still have unclear is.. When you say "type" where do i type?? Is it on an app on my veralite website??
Thank you
Macflow
newt
newt
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 1:03 am

Re: Vera shows serial port as Not Available

Postby kevin » Sat Dec 06, 2014 6:01 pm

ssh as root to the vera with a tool such as putty
Not an employee of the company. Just here to help and keep things clean.
kevin
Platinum Nut
Platinum Nut
 
Posts: 993
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 10:10 am


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron