AD2PI with existing Raspberry Pi

General Discussion

Re: AD2PI with existing Raspberry Pi

Postby jgrant50 » Mon May 09, 2016 5:14 am

Hi Scott - are there any updates?

Thanks.
jgrant50
newt
newt
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 1:05 pm

Re: AD2PI with existing Raspberry Pi

Postby Scott » Mon May 09, 2016 11:54 am

Hey! I'm really sorry I forgot about you. Just finished moving so it's been kind of a crazy month.

Here's a link to my test code: http://alarmdecoder.com/downloads/debug/ssdp.zip

It's a set of Python scripts which should work out-of-the-box on Mac/Linux. I don't see any issues with Windows, but I haven't tested that one. You'll want to run client.py, which does a brief broadcast message on your network to discover the AlarmDecoder and prints any responses.

A successful response will be something like this:
Code: Select all
HTTP/1.1 200 OK
CACHE-CONTROL: max-age = 600
EXT:
LOCATION: http://10.10.0.14:5000
SERVER: Linux/1.0 UPnP/1.1 AlarmDecoder/1.0
ST: AlarmDecoder:api
USN: uuid:1fd592f0-eae7-11e5-bf53-902b34534d24


Nothing printed indicates nothing was returned to us. You might try to run it a couple of times just to be sure.

Thanks!
Scott
Expert Nut
Expert Nut
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:17 am

Re: AD2PI with existing Raspberry Pi

Postby jgrant50 » Mon May 09, 2016 12:17 pm

No worries at all Scott - I appreciate the reply. Regarding the python scripts, I ran the one you suggested and the output seems to have identified my Philips Hue bridge:

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
HOST: 239.255.255.250:1900
EXT:
CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=100
LOCATION: http://192.168.2.24:80/description.xml
SERVER: FreeRTOS/7.4.2 UPnP/1.0 IpBridge/1.12.0
hue-bridgeid: 001788FFFE17DB29
ST: upnp:rootdevice
USN: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00178817db29::upnp:rootdevice

Should I disconnect the bridge from my network and try the AD2PI setup again?

Thanks!
jgrant50
newt
newt
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 1:05 pm

Re: AD2PI with existing Raspberry Pi

Postby Scott » Mon May 09, 2016 12:32 pm

I think that would be a good test. It's also possible that multiple things are responding (including the AlarmDecoder) if you have a lot of IoT devices and the test code isn't robust enough to catch all of the responses. I'll tweak it a bit if that's the case.
Scott
Expert Nut
Expert Nut
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:17 am

Re: AD2PI with existing Raspberry Pi

Postby jgrant50 » Mon May 09, 2016 12:36 pm

I disconnected the Hue hub and re-ran the setup utility for the AD2Pi. The script did not return anything after running it a number of times. As soon as I re-connected the Philips hub, I got the same output as before. One thing I noticed is that the test utility in the web interface sometimes errors on the receive portion (last test). It does show successful after a few tries however.

Thanks again.
jgrant50
newt
newt
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 1:05 pm

Re: AD2PI with existing Raspberry Pi

Postby Scott » Tue May 10, 2016 10:28 am

Alrighty. I would also try running client.py on your Raspberry Pi itself, but a few other things to consider:

  • Do you have any iptables rules enabled on the Pi? (sudo iptables --list) I was thinking it may be a network issue, but if your Hue is responding that would indicate that multicast functions.
  • Is your network segmented in any way? Are the Hue/SmartThings on the same switch/router as the Pi?
Scott
Expert Nut
Expert Nut
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:17 am

Re: AD2PI with existing Raspberry Pi

Postby jgrant50 » Tue May 10, 2016 5:05 pm

I ran the script on the raspberry pi. Here's the output:

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
CACHE-CONTROL: max-age = 600
EXT:
LOCATION: http://192.168.2.28:5000
SERVER: Linux/1.0 UPnP/1.1 AlarmDecoder/1.0
ST: AlarmDecoder:api
USN: uuid:43cd9d0a-05d2-11e6-9d2d-b827eb8417e6

All of my devices are on a flat network for all intents and purposes, so there shouldn't be any communication issues. Running the script from my Mac I get the following output identifying my Philips Hue bridge the same as before:

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
HOST: 239.255.255.250:1900
EXT:
CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=100
LOCATION: http://192.168.2.24:80/description.xml
SERVER: FreeRTOS/7.4.2 UPnP/1.0 IpBridge/1.12.0
hue-bridgeid: 001788FFFE17DB29
ST: upnp:rootdevice
USN: uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-00178817db29::upnp:rootdevice
jgrant50
newt
newt
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 1:05 pm

Re: AD2PI with existing Raspberry Pi

Postby Scott » Wed May 11, 2016 9:31 am

Strange. Well, at least the webapp is doing it's job. Let me do a little digging and talk to the guys here and see if they have any ideas.
Scott
Expert Nut
Expert Nut
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:17 am

Re: AD2PI with existing Raspberry Pi

Postby Scott » Wed May 11, 2016 10:49 am

Well, the next step is probably going to be wireshark/tcpdump to see what's actually happening on your network. Would you be up for a phone call and Team Viewer? I'm at the office until 6PM PDT. I'll PM you my number. You're also welcome to do the network dumps yourself, if you prefer.
Scott
Expert Nut
Expert Nut
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:17 am

Re: AD2PI with existing Raspberry Pi

Postby jgrant50 » Wed May 11, 2016 1:13 pm

Hi Scott,

I'm actually on vacation until next week. I'll touch base with you once I'm back.

I did get the pm by the way.

Thanks.
jgrant50
newt
newt
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 1:05 pm

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests

cron