Debugging Keypad comm error -- SM, any feedback?

General Discussion

Debugging Keypad comm error -- SM, any feedback?

Postby jb170 » Mon Mar 08, 2021 8:26 am

Hi -- any feedback on my earlier note? I posted version and command response.

Thanks!

Jack
jb170
newt
newt
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 5:38 pm

Re: Debugging Keypad comm error -- SM, any feedback?

Postby kd7mlg » Mon Mar 08, 2021 5:49 pm

Not SM but...

The output in your post looks good, the 'FC' indicates a communication failure -- no telco line connected most likely.

Did you go into panel programming and enable address 19?

Assuming a Vista-15P or Vista-20P:
Installer Code + 800, then *192 to get to Address 19 then:
1 for partition 1 (2 for 2, 3 for common) (1 is the only option for -15P)
then 0 (no suppression of sounds and alarms)

If Installer Code is default it looks like this: 4-1-1-2-8-0-0-*-1-9-2-1-0-*-*-9-9

My guess is comm is failing because the keypad address isn't enabled.
kd7mlg
Junior Nut
Junior Nut
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 4:40 pm

Re: Debugging Keypad comm error -- SM, any feedback?

Postby kd7mlg » Mon Mar 08, 2021 5:50 pm

Also, to get rid of the FC code:
4-1-1-2-8-0-0-*-9-2-0-0-*-*-9-9
kd7mlg
Junior Nut
Junior Nut
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 4:40 pm

Re: Debugging Keypad comm error -- SM, any feedback?

Postby jb170 » Wed Mar 10, 2021 4:08 am

Hi - thanks for the reply.

I looked back at the programming and found mine is a vista 40. I have keypads on address 1, 2 and 4. I tested them by holding down 1 and 3 to see the addresses. I confirmed these addresses were enabled in the system -- I entered my installer code + 800 then #93 then a couple of "0"'s to get to devices and scrolled thru the keyboards. I had also enabled address 3 and 6 in addition to 1,2 and 4 and tried both 3 and 6 in the keypad app and still got an error. My system worked with the keyboard app set to address 6 until it didn't work. That's why i thought it may be hardware.

i didn't see how to clear the FC error but I did have a FC error on my display a month or so ago but then it seemed to clear. I have a cellular connection to my monitoring center and there was an issue at one point.

I've had my ADPI device for a while and it worked a one point on address 6. However, its not worked in a few years. I assume the hardware may have failed or could there be a software fix that caused the issue?

thanks for the help.
jb170
newt
newt
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 5:38 pm

Re: Debugging Keypad comm error -- SM, any feedback?

Postby kd7mlg » Wed Mar 10, 2021 5:56 pm

Ahh okay. No direct experience with a Vista 40 but looks like you did the right thing. You've probably already done all the rest of this, but if not it wouldn't hurt. At least then there'd be a known starting point.

I guess i would say, make sure device 6 is enabled as type 1 (alpha keypad) assigned to the right partition with sound option 00.

Then, without running the keypad app I would telnet to the adpi on port 10000 and reboot (=), and then go back through guided setup (!). Make sure the device is set for ademco, keypad address 6, and turn everything off ("N") to start.

Once you see keypad messages start to stream, type in your code and an arming function and see what happens.

If that works, go back to the web app (or windows app) and run through configuration there also and see what happens.
kd7mlg
Junior Nut
Junior Nut
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 4:40 pm

Re: Debugging Keypad comm error -- SM, any feedback?

Postby jb170 » Wed Mar 10, 2021 7:13 pm

Hi -- thanks for the suggestions. I did access thru telnet with reboot (=) and config (!) and set address to 6 with "N" for the rest. I saw messages out via telnet after that but when entered "C" I see what looks like a 19 in the address. Could it be that the 6 address is not being stored? I believe I was successfully running a 6 keyboard address for the ADPI for several years (I think 2015 thru 2017 or 2018) and then had the error. Based on my reading of the Vista40 manual, I can go up to 15 keyboard addresses but not 19.

Code: Select all
!Reading configuration.
!UART init.
[10000001100000003A--],000,[f75f00001000801c28020000000000],"****DISARMED****  READY TO ARM  "
[10000001100000003A--],000,[f75f00001000801c28020000000000],"****DISARMED****  READY TO ARM  "
C
!>
!CONFIG>MODE=A&CONFIGBITS=ff05&ADDRESS=19&LRR=N&COM=N&EXP=NNNNN&REL=NNNN&MASK=ffffffff&DEDUPLICATE=N
!Reading configuration.
jb170
newt
newt
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 5:38 pm

Re: Debugging Keypad comm error -- SM, any feedback?

Postby kd7mlg » Wed Mar 10, 2021 9:10 pm

You could try CADDRESS=6 and see if it does anything? Yeah, that's strange. I would think that the AD2 would acccept any address from 1-31 but maybe not?
kd7mlg
Junior Nut
Junior Nut
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 4:40 pm

Re: Debugging Keypad comm error -- SM, any feedback?

Postby jb170 » Thu Mar 11, 2021 7:12 pm

Thanks, kd7mlg. I found the complete protocol reference at https://www.alarmdecoder.com/forums/memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=2375 and tried a few different commands. When I tried CADDRESS=6 again, it worked. I was also successful using the setup thru the webapp with address=6. Not sure what actually fixed this but I'm back in business. Thanks for your help!
jb170
newt
newt
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 5:38 pm

Re: Debugging Keypad comm error -- SM, any feedback?

Postby mathewss » Tue Mar 16, 2021 6:53 pm

kd7mlg wrote:You could try CADDRESS=6 and see if it does anything? Yeah, that's strange. I would think that the AD2 would acccept any address from 1-31 but maybe not?

Actually it will allow and supports address 0 to 31 with 31 being a special decoding mode for the older SE panels.
For DSC panels the address is the partition from 1-8?.. I forget.
mathewss
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 11:14 am


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron